Virginia Society for Technology in Education

Innovative Educator of the Year

Celebrate Innovation

Nominations for 2014 are closed. Nominations for 2015 will open in mid-August 2015.

Do you know someone in your backyard that’s an innovative educator? Someone who deserves recognition for thinking creatively with regards to using technology in instruction?

Our aim is to highlight and recognize innovative educational practices—especially those that champion the smart integration of technology. Entries will be reviewed by the Awards Committee, made up of board members of the Society and previous award winners.

The window for submitting nominations is August 15-October 1, 2014.

Nominees must be members of VSTE, and can be from schools both public and private, can be advocates for education, and faculty and staff of higher education institutions.

Winners will be announced in mid-October 2014, and will receive a complimentary registration for the annual conference in Virginia Beach where they will be recognized for their achievement.

Thank you for your time and consideration with a nomination!

Complete your nomination here: Innovative Educator of the Year Nomination Form

General Information:

The VSTE Innovative Educator of the Year award is intended to recognize innovative teaching practices. Nominations are open to VSTE members and are open to any position that supports innovation in education.  Entries will be reviewed by a team made up of both VSTE members (who are not eligible to run) and VSTE board members.  Nominations will be accepted for a minimum period of one month. Winners will be announced at least one month prior to the annual conference, and VSTE will showcase the Innovative Educator of the Year recipients at VSTE’s annual conference. Award recipients will be featured in VSTE publications, web sites, and in press releases provided to local media.

2014 Winner
Dr. Teresa Coffman, University of Mary Washington

2013 Winner
William Berry, Henrico County Public Schools

2012 Winner
Monica Kissel, Loudoun County Public Schools

2011 Winner
Matt Dunleavy, Assistant Professor, Radford University

2010 Winner:

Adina Popa, Loudoun County Public Schools

VSTE Image


The presence of advertisements on our website does not indicate endorsement of the products. We do, however, attempt to present items of interest to our members.