Virginia Society for Technology in Education

Teacher & Leader of the Year Awards

Honoring Educators

Nominations are now closed. The 2015 awards will open in mid-August 2015.

VSTE will recognize and honor one leader and one teacher* in Virginia who have demonstrated outstanding achievement and leadership in implementing technology to improve education.  Award recipients will be selected from a pool of nominations submitted by VSTE members from around Virginia. Nominations for 2014 will be accepted from August 15 to October 1, 2014.  Winners will be announced in mid-October 2014, and will receive a complimentary registration for the annual conference in Virginia Beach where they will be recognized for their achievement.

Application packets should include a nomination statement and at least one letter of recommendation.

Please review the appropriate rubric when preparing nomination materials. Nominees are rated solely using criteria identified in the rubric.


Questions should be addressed to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).

The review committee will include VSTE board members and previous winners.

2014 Wiiners
Outstanding Leader: Janet Copenhaver, Director of Technology, Henry County Schools
Outstanding Teacher: Daniel Nemerow, Math and Special Education, Prince William County Schools

2013 Winners

Outstanding Leader: Richard Pierce, Associate Professor, Shenandoah University
Outstanding Teacher: Wendy Phillips, literacy specialist at Belview Elementary School, Montgomery County Schools

2012 Winners

Outstanding Leader: Mark Nichols, Special Education Supervisor for Assistive Technology and Individual Education Programs, Loudoun County Public Schools
Outstanding Teacher: Norene Skiles, library media specialist at Windsor Oaks Elementary School, Virginia Beach City Public Schools

2011 Winners

Outstanding Leader: Thomas Woodward,  Assistant Director of Instructional Technology, Henrico County Public Schools
Outstanding Teacher: Kristina Peck, Riverbend High School Math Teacher, Spotsylvania County Public Schools

2010 Winners:

Outstanding Leader: Katie Knapp, Computer Resource Specialist, Virginia Beach Public Schools
Outstanding Teacher: Lacy Krell, Salem High School English Teacher, Virginia Beach Public Schools

* Definition of a teacher: It is the intent of the VSTE Outstanding Teacher Award to recognize those persons currently responsible for the day-to-day instruction of PK–12 students, regardless of subject matter. There is an assumption that under this scenario, there will be an articulated curriculum and some type of assessment of learning. Therefore, nominees for this award may also include such individuals as library media specialists, technology integration specialists, etc. for it is the duties and responsibilities of one’s job that define one’s role, rather than one’s title. Of note however, if more than seventy-five percent of one’s responsibilities do not include the direct instruction of PK–12 age students, then the nomination for Outstanding Teacher would not be appropriate.

VSTE Image


The presence of advertisements on our website does not indicate endorsement of the products. We do, however, attempt to present items of interest to our members.